BEST EVER GF Puff Pastry and a Tart (GF)

This post was not intended to be so long, but to make it (hopefully) more manageable I’ve split it up in pages. Linked to Gluten-Free Wednesdays and Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays.

On Monday, after making lunch and tidying up, I rolled up my sleeves and commenced to finish making the puff pastry that I’ve been excited about for so long.

It is no mistake: yes, I said puff pastry. Make that gluten-free puff pastry, from Helene of Tartelette. When I first caught word of this marvel last month, I waited in tense anticipation for one of the two ladies to post the recipe for this dream come true. When I saw the post, at last, I exclaimed, “Yes!” Ecstatic. My sister, who was in the vicinity, looked at me with a strange expression on her face. “You nut,” she said.

“What? It’s gluten-free puff pastry!” I exclaimed, pointing at the screen. I sighed, “Isn’t it wonderful?”

Most of my gluten-free cooking experience is through the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD), in which a gluten-free puff pastry is scientifically impossible, so I never thought of tried making it myself. Puff pastry needs a gluten, some form of starch…none of which any of the foods allowed on SCD provides. When I saw that fantastic gluten-free puff pastry, I knew that I had to make it.

Working with the dough was beautiful. But the beauty even started before that, with the flour combination: I want to make the flour blend again and try using it in other baking. The density was like all-purpose flour – no kidding! Before I’d even got to the folding part, I was even more excited: with only the water added, it smelled and felt like wheat! I passed the bowl around to everyone, for them to smell it and feel how wonderful it was, pressing the dough with their fingers; all of us in wonder and excitement, thinking of the potential and possibilities. (“I can’t wait for that pastry!” said my Mum.) I was impressed with the elasticity. As I was rolling out the dough, with each folding, I felt more and more like I was working with wheat dough than a gluten-free one, for I thought it acted very much like gluten would. After each folding (six in total), the dough had to rest in the fridge for 1 hour – I started making the dough in the afternoon, after four o’clock, and I had missed the part about the one-hour rest between each folding – even though I’ve read Helen’s post and instructions who knows how many times since I first saw it. The fourth folding was at around eleven-thirty-ish, and I’d planned to set an alarm to go off at one-hour intervals, so that I could fold the dough. I didn’t know what would happen if I just let it rest for longer than hour when it wasn’t finished being folded. As it happened, I never heard that alarm – instead the dough remained in the fridge, undisturbed, until five o’clock in the morning and I woke up panicked.

I did use butter to make the crust, although I’d like to see if coconut oil would also work. That’s what I wanted to do in the first place, but my Mum said that I should make it with the butter first so I know how it should work, then experiment with making it dairy-free. I had intended to make the dairy-free version before I made the quiche and posted it, but I didn’t have the time – the deadline is this Wednesday, tomorrow. When I make a dairy-free version, I’ll share the results.

(Click the number 2 to continue reading and for the recipe)


10 thoughts on “BEST EVER GF Puff Pastry and a Tart (GF)

  1. Looks amazing! Really inspiring! Makes me want to try making more GF versions of foods! It’s amazing what you can do without gluten! Btw- I love that plate with the hearts! Very cute!

  2. Z, the last picture won’t load. Is it just my computer or does that happen on yours too? And it was very delicious, but next time, make it lemon tart. ;D With hardly any sweetener. >:)

Leave a comment