Dairy-Free Custard (SCD & GFCF)

This entry is a little different than previously posted recipes because it is to supplement the how-to, step-by-step video I made about making a dairy-free custard. This custard is the standard recipe that I use for other recipes requiring custard or sometimes substituting yogurt in sweet things such as, but not limited to, baked goods, which I will be blogging in the near future.

I’ve included some serving suggestions, as well as additional tips, following the instructions below. The leftover egg whites can be saved and used in another recipe. If you don’t have a double boiler, stack a stove-proof bowl over a pot of simmering water. Be sure that the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water.

If doubling this recipe, you may use the original measurement of coconut oil if you wish. It isn’t necessary to increase the amount due to the coconut oil’s richness. Whether you double it or not, the custard’s flavour and consistency won’t be affected either way.

[Update July 2010: this recipe is also available in the Cook IT Allergy Free app, available from iTunes]

Ingredients

5 to 6 egg yolks
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup to 1 cup coconut milk
1/3 cup coconut oil
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Method

  1. Beat the egg yolks and honey together and add the coconut milk. Cook the custard over medium heat  double boiler style (stove-proof bowl balanced over a pot of simmering water, make sure the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water) for 35 minutes until thickened to a yogurt-like consistency (it should coat a spoon); an additional 10 minutes may be needed if it still isn’t thick enough at the end of the cooking time.  If it still isn’t thick after 10 minutes, refer to the following suggestion in the second paragraph below (after step 2).
  2. Remove from heat and whisk in the oil, adding the oil in a steady stream. The custard and oil will separate but keep on going; as you continue it will gradually smooth out. Add the vanilla and cool. Serve the custard in bowls with the prepared fruit (see below for suggestions).

Whether you use five or six egg yolks doesn’t affect the custard overall; depending on the amount, when doubling the recipe use eight to ten or twelve egg yolks, and so on. It isn’t exact math, but these are the amounts of egg yolks I have used when doubling the custard. I know this may sound confusing, but sometimes I have fallen short of one or two yolks and in my experience this small difference doesn’t affect the overall outcome of the custard. I’m not always precise in my measurements. when making this custard recipe. The egg yolks’ colour can also affect the colour of the custard – while usually a pale yellow, if you are using egg yolks that are a darker colour, such as orange, the custard will be a similar colour.

The thickness of the coconut milk also contributes to the thickness of the custard in addition to the egg yolks. Sometimes the custard will have hardly thickened at all, even after it’s completed its cooking time. I’ve had this case scenario many times. If this is the case, rest assured there is nothing wrong. I know the natural impulse could be to grab the cornstarch or try to find something else to thicken it, but in this case all that’s required is  a little refrigeration. Once you’ve added the coconut oil and vanilla and it’s cooled enough, cover it and chill in the fridge – it will thicken. Chill it for a few hours or overnight; how much it thickens depends on how long you leave it in the fridge. After two days, the custard thickens to a spreadable consistency.

Serving Ideas

Custard pairs extremely well with a variety of fruit, a favourite being fresh organic strawberries. Organic strawberries are ultimately sweeter than the conventional type. Strawberries are also better when they’re in season.

Other fruit ideas are ripe banana (a rich treat), nectarine, peach, plum, raspberries, apple, and pear. Pear is absolutely excellent eaten with custard! The custard and pear’s flavours sort of compliment each other, the overall flavour is creamy and it sort of offsets the richness of the custard. This is also the same case for apple. You may also use a combination of the aforementioned fruit. Other fruit possibilities may be tried with the custard; those that I have listed are what I have tried with the custard so far. Enjoy!

Share This

Add to Google Buzz

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

PrintPrint Get a PDF version of this webpage PDF


8 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Custard (SCD & GFCF)

  1. Very professional movie, Z, I’m impressed! Well done. This also looks like a really tasty recipe, the method of making it reminds me of a lemon curd recipe I made a while ago. I’ll have to try it soon.
    As a side note, where would I find coconut oil? Can I use sunflower oil instead?

    1. Hi Sarah,

      Thanks about the video. 🙂 Sunflower oil is perfectly fine to use instead of coconut oil, if you want. Coconut oil, either virgin or extra virgin, should be available in most health food stores. The coconut oil I usually use is cold-pressed virgin and comes in a glass jar (454 grams). When bought, the oil is usually at a semi-solid, spreadable consistency (this stage is sometimes referred to as coconut butter). It can also be refrigerated but it must be put out well in advance if it’s going to be used for any cooking or baking because it gets really hard, kind of like when butter is taken out of the fridge or freezer. (I’d even suggest leaving it out overnight, once I had it out for 3 hours and it was still hard!)

  2. WOWSAW! Is it wrong to comment on all the things I loved about this video and then the actual recipe itself? 😀 The format was so easy to follow and the music was superbly timed, loved your nail polish colour and and and!! Your videos are really taking on a new dimension and I enjoy them as well as your yummy recipes. Looking forward to seeing what you are doing next! 😀
    Have a great day in the kitchen…

  3. I am glad someone else posted about your nail polish because I felt like a weirdo wanting to ask when this is a cooking and baking blog! I like the music, too.

    1. I am the first “weirdo” who asked so no need to feel awkward! 🙂 I don’t know why you got a thumbs down for that but in my book I shall give you a gold star! ….yes…I have that power! 🙂

  4. I am not an egg person but a friend made this and really liked it. Other custards I have tried seemed heavy. Does it taste different because of the diet restrictions or coconut oil? I was surprised at the difference.

    1. I think the taste difference is because of the coconut milk. While coconut milk is generally rich, I don’t think it’s as heavy as dairy. Though I sometimes make my own coconut milk, I usually use tinned coconut milk that only has coconut, water, and citric acid. Once I made the custard with coconut milk that had xantham gum or guar gum and there was a noticeable difference in texture!

Leave a comment