Egg in the Basket (SCD & GFCF)

For this month’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free, the theme is breakfast in bed, hosted by Naomi Devlin, the creator of this blog event, of Straight Into Bed Cakefree and Dried. The deadline is next week, Monday, April 26th. If you’re interested in joining, see Naomi’s post here.

For my entry, I thought of my own breakfast preferences. While most of the recipes I have here, so far, are sweet things and baked goods, I don’t always want to eat something sweet in the morning. Carrot muffins are good and substantial, a quick pick-me-up, and good for on the go, but I don’t always want to eat carrot muffins for breakfast. Inspiration struck, though, on Sunday when I had a sunny-side up egg on toast and decided to make egg in the basket.

I discovered this humble breakfast food when I watched V for Vendetta, in the scene in which V makes breakfast for Evey. I’ve since seen it elsewhere, including Roald Dahl’s first cookbook.

The bread is fried (usually buttered), with an egg cracked into the hole made by a cookie cutter or overturned glass. Some people also just use their fingers to make the hole.

For this round, I used the almond butter bread. So that the slice would be the right size and not fall apart once I cut a hole out of the middle, I made a double recipe of the bread (actually combining cashew butter and almond butter), pouring all the batter into one pan, making a regular-sized loaf of bread. It’s also nice if the bread is cut kind of thick, for soaking up the yolk when digging in – if you like having runny yolks, that is. Plus, the nuttiness of the bread nicely compliments the egg.

Once the bread’s made, this is really no-fuss, simple, and quick to make! It’s best eaten while still warm, so serve immediately after making.

This entry is a double-whammy: not only is it my submission for Go Ahead Honey, it’s also just in time for Gluten-Free Wednesdays!

Recipe: Egg in the Basket

Serves as many as there are slices of bread and eggs – and appetites! (General rule of thumb: 1 slice of bread/1 egg per person.)

Ingredients:

1 slice of almond butter bread (click for recipe)
Solid, soft coconut oil
1 egg
Salt and/or black pepper, to season

Method:

  1. Heat a fry pan over medium heat. Spread the slice of bread on both sides with coconut oil. Cut a hole out of the middle of the slice of bread, using a cookie cutter, overturned glass, knife, or your fingers. (I used a cookie cutter.) The circle of bread can be eaten or fried next to the slice of bread, eaten alongside or set on top of the egg once done to act as a “lid”.
  2. Put the slice of bread in the pan. Add a small dollop of coconut oil in the hole and crack in the egg. The additional coconut oil will help prevent the egg from sticking.
  3. When the egg is fairly set and the bottom of the bread is browned flip over to finish cooking the egg and brown the other side of the bread. Do this carefully and quickly if you want to keep the egg yolk intact and/or runny.
  4. When egg is cooked to desired doneness, flip over again so the egg is sunny-side up and serve on a plate. Season with salt and black pepper. Enjoy!

Share This

Add to Google Buzz

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine


9 thoughts on “Egg in the Basket (SCD & GFCF)

  1. One of my faves! When my Mom first made this for me, she cut the bread with a heart cookie cutter (winter was a mitten :D) and also cut up little pieces of bacon and dill that she sprinkled onto the egg. I love the comic book graphics you used and I am curious about the almond bread used. Does it taste sweeter or thicker than regular bread? Thanks for the trip down memory lane 🙂

    1. The almond butter bread tastes nutty and it isn’t too sweet, although if you wanted it sweet I suppose some honey could be added to the batter. Its flavour is pretty distinct. I think I’ve easily made it banana bread by just throwing in one or two ripe, mashed bananas. No other sweeteners required, the bananas cover that.

  2. Yum! This looks absolutely delicious. Fin will be all over it when I tell him – fried almond bread and runny egg, two of his very favourite things!

    Thanks for joining in.

    I love the Vendetta cartoon stylings too…

    x x x

    1. Thank you, Naomi, for hosting this event and creating the opportunity for me to join! I had fun participating and am looking forward to the round-up. I hope Fin likes it, I’d love to read a post about him enjoying it, like you’ve done with other foods that you’ve made and he’s enjoyed. 🙂 It’s always nice to have family imput.

  3. Your bread looks great. I’ve made this recipe a couple of times before, and it’s very good. I just don’t bake a loaf of bread very often, and then I forget about doing this when I do. Thanks for the reminder and for participating in Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

  4. Bravo! I’ve never had this dish, but have always loved the idea. Must do this very soon! Love your photos and tutorial … very helpful. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment on my Food Revolution post! I’ll be sharing your site with one member of my support group who follows SCD and I’ll be back myself as often as I can. 😉

    Thanks so much,

    Shirley

Leave a comment