Apricot and Raspberry Flognarde (SCD & GFCF)

As part of my foodie interest, I remember reading about clafoutis on Wikipedia – a French dessert with cherries, traditionally unpitted, baked in a kind of pancake batter. It’s difficult to describe what a clafoutis exactly is, although I’ve found the best definition yet, so far, in a book called The Patisseries of Paris by Jamie Cahill and Alison Harris (which I read as an Amazon preview), describing clafoutis as “a cross between a pudding and a cake”.

When other fruit is used instead of cherries, clafoutis becomes flognarde, although this distinction does not seem to be made, at least, in the English-speaking world. That’s why you’ll see a variety of “clafoutis” that aren’t made at all with cherries! Whenever I see one of those kinds of recipes, for a clafoutis made with fruit other than cherries, I’m always quick to inform others. My definition for flognarde is “clafoutis without the cherries.” One day I’ll make a clafoutis proper, but for now flognarde is what’s on the menu.

I’ve made flognarde before, but this was my first time to use other fruit than apples, what I have usually used. And, oh my, is it ever good! It’s just perfect – since making this one, now I’m thinking of other fruit to use. Plus, it was my answer to what I’d make for this month’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free, which this month’s theme is French food and hosted by Sheryl of Breaking Bread. (Next time, I’ll be a little more ambitious with this, which is what I had first set my heart on to make for my submission). The submission deadline is July 27th, 2010 – if you’re interested in participating, please be sure to swing by Sheryl’s site for details.

Recipe index I’ve updated, reorganized, and expanded the recipe index! Check it out. If you have any suggestions on how to make it better, do share in the comments below.

Cook IT Allergy Free If you have an iPod, iPhone, or iPad and have allergies or you’re just trying to eat healthier, do you have the Cook IT Allergy Free app, from Kim of the website Cook It Allergy Free? If not, I recommend that you check it out! All the recipes on the app can be custom tailored to suit your allergy needs and can be saved to your recipe box and added to shopping lists. I’m excited and happy to announce that some of those recipes are also from yours truly here! Even more reason for you to check out this fab app.

Apricot and Raspberry Flognarde

(Not the French recipe you were looking for? We have lots more here!)

Although flognarde, or clafoutis, is traditionally served as dessert, it can just as well be had for breakfast – or anytime of day, for that matter. You’ll notice that I’m generally not strict about what can be had for a meal or dessert, or what is appropriate. I’ll let you decide that.

Make sure that the fruit is ripe, especially the raspberries if you’re using fresh (no one likes a sour raspberry), as you’re going to be mostly relying on the fruit to sweeten the dish and letting it naturally shine through. For the batter, I based it on the recipe for almond flour crepes instead of the one that I made for the apple and currant flognarde as I thought it would be lighter and wouldn’t overwhelm the fruit. I forgot to add coconut milk to the batter, so I remedied it by drizzling some over the flognarde and it worked perfectly. It was sort of like a custard and pudding.

I’m sure that this could also be made into smaller, individual-sized flognardes using ramekins, just being sure to adjust the baking time. Peaches or nectarines would also work instead of apricots if they aren’t handy or available in your area.

Ingredients:

7 ounces ripe apricots (or 8 small, walnut-sized apricots)
About 4 ounces ripe, fresh red raspberries or frozen black raspberries
Honey
3 eggs
1/4 cup almond flour
2 tbsp. water
1 tbsp. honey
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. almond extract
Coconut milk (estimated 1/4 cup)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Halve and pit the apricots, and slice halves into quarters. Arrange apricot quarters with the raspberries in the bottom of a 9-inch circular pan, such as a pie plate. Lightly drizzle the fruit with honey.

Beat the eggs and add the almond flour, water, honey, and extracts, adding one at a time and mixing well after each addition. Cover and refrigerate for about 15 minutes, until it’s thickened. Pour batter over fruit. Drizzle coconut milk over top and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until golden. Cool and serve. Enjoy!


5 thoughts on “Apricot and Raspberry Flognarde (SCD & GFCF)

  1. It took this single post to make this website a new favorite. This dessert, as far as desserts go, is on the healthier side and I love that everything on this site is sugar-free (VERY important for me, given my intolerance)! I cannot wait to try this recipe. I have a feeling you’ll be seeing me recreating a lot of your stuff on my blog.

Leave a comment